2023 Midwest Academy Awards: Amplify Georgia Collaborative

2023 Midwest Academy Awards: Amplify Georgia Collaborative

The work of Amplify Georgia Collaborative is powerful, life changing and critical. We are so inspired by their reproductive justice work. The Collaborative brings together reproductive health, rights, and justice organizations, community leaders, and allies to expand abortion access and advance reproductive justice in Georgia through policy change, culture shift, and education. And they do this movement work by building power across race, gender, sexuality, class, age, ability, and immigration status – with radical love at the center of their work.

Accepting the award for this powerful collaborative are two incredible visionary leaders: Amplify Georgia Collaborative’s Local Campaign Manager, Desirrae Thomas, and Agbo Ikor, the Policy and Advocacy Director of one of the anchor organizations, SPARK Reproductive Justice NOW!

Desirrae serves as the local campaign manager, figuring out how localities can better implement reproductive justice in their city or county. She is also working on her Master in Public Health at Georgia State, concentrating on health promotion and behavior, learning skills she plans to bring to her work at Amplify GA.

Agbo has worked to fight sex discrimination at school and work through Atlanta Women for Equality and is using her passion and knowledge to bring holistic reproductive change to Georgia and the deep south. SPARK Reproductive Justice NOW! centers young people, Black queer women and trans folx in their reproductive justice work. Agbo has been an incredible leader in this transformative work.

To read about the other honorees, click below:

For their visionary and powerful climate justice work:

For their life-changing reproductive freedom work:

For their tireless work to enact economic justice:

Presenting Sponsor

Direct Action Sponsor

Strategy Sponsor

Progressive Sponsors

Champions of Justice Sponsors

Norbert Goldfield
Megan Hull

Friends of the Academy Sponsors

Heather Booth*
Jeff Blum & Ellen Cassedy
Everett Foundation
Cathy Hurwit
Jackie Kendall*
Kweli Kitwana
Mike Lux and Barbara Laur
David Medina* & Tim DeMagistris
Eddy Morales* & Hugh Harris
Nick Nyhart & Kathleen McTigue
Public Citizen
Karen Thomas**

*Current Board member
**Former Executive Director

Back to Top